

Acharya Narendra Deva University of Agriculture & Technology Kumarganj-224229, Ayodhya (U.P)

6.1.2. The effective leadership is reflected in various institutional practices such as decentralization and participative management

Response:

Acharya Narendra Deva University of Agriculture and Technology works in well-defined manner to ensure decentralization and participative management at various levels. The University is established under Uttar Pradesh Krishi evam Prodyogik Vishwavidyala Adhiniyam, 1958 [UP Act XLV of 1958].

The apex governing Executive of the University is The Chancellor and Hon'ble Governor of the state of Utter Pradesh. The vice chancellor is the executive head of the University. The University delegates powers to Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, Registrar, Directors, Comptroller, Deans, Heads and faculty members at various levels for smooth functioning.

Board of Management (BOM): It is the highest apex body endowed with the responsibility of taking policy decisions for working of the University. The Vice Chancellor is the Chairman and Comptroller is the Secretary of BOM. All the policy decisions of the University are discussed at various levels like Board of Faculty and Academic Council and forwarded to Board of Management that takes final decision for implementation and monitoring.

The Academic Council (AC): Academic Council is a statutory body for taking decisions on academic matters of the university. Vice Chancellor is the Chairman of Academic Council and Registrar is the member Secretary of the Council. All the Deans, Directors, Head of the Departments and Professors are the members of the Council.

Board of faculty (BOF): All the faculties have their Board of Faculty which is responsible for regulation of Teaching, Research and Extension activities of the respective faculty and amendments to academic council time to time. The Dean of the Faculty is the Chairman of the Board of Faculty. The Board of Faculty discusses all the matters pertaining to the college and forward them to Academic Council for final decision.

Research Advisory committee (RAC): It is a statutory committee meant for regulation the research activities of the University. The Vice chancellor is the Chairman and Director Agriculture Experiment Station is the secretary of this committee. Research Advisory Committee includes two external expert members in addition to deans and directors of the University.

Extension Advisory committee (EAC): University has a well-established structure of extension activities run under the directorate of extension. University has 25 KVKs and four

Krishi Gyan Kendras. The EAC formulates the action plan of extension activities. The Vice Chancellor is the chairman of the committee and the Director of Extension is the secretary. A number of non-statuary committees have been constituted viz Women Harassment cell, Anti Ragging Committee, Gender Committee Grievance Cell, Coordination Cell, Industry Institute Partnership Cell and Animal Ethics Committee etc.

Directorate of Training and Placement: The University has a full flashed Directorate of Training and Placement to look after the training of employees and students and placement of the students after completion of their degree.

Directorate of Administration and Monitoring: It regulates overall administration of the University. This office is the major administrative establishment to advise and provide support to Hon'ble Vice Chancellor for administrative control of the University.